I’m Sorry, I Got Your Book at the Library

Batgirl2

There’s no need to be sorry! Libraries are wonderful places. They are excellent conservators of resources, they preserve literary legacies, and they safeguard privacy and access to information for everybody.

That you found my books there, checked them out (or even read them discreetly in the corner) encourages the library to buy other titles, making more lesbian lit available to all the patrons. I know that many young people find their first queer lit at the library, so your patronage is part of the chain that gets positive, affirming books into the hands of those that need that kind of message.

That said, Batgirl was a librarian. She wore purple spandex, stilettos and rode a purple motorcycle. I tried to capture that flair for style (at least on the inside) in Marian, the librarian, of One Degree of Separation.

Copyrighted material.

One thought on “I’m Sorry, I Got Your Book at the Library

  1. I certainly found my first queer lit at a library. And as a librarian, I encourage folks to check queer titles out (and return them) because circulation stats are important to us for collection developement. MJ Lowe

    Like

Click to comment. Log in with WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, G+...up to you.

