Why don’t you write fanfic?

Femme hand holding pen
I have to admit one of the most daunting things about fanfic for me, as an undertaking, is the reality that the readers would know more about the subject than I did. Some of the earliest fanfic I read was in print Star Trek novels and I was among those who knew classic Trek episodes line by line. (Oh where oh where has that part of my brain gone?) When I found errors in the books I was irate! How could anyone make such a glaring mistake when it was obvious in episode 23 that…blah blah blah.

If I ever attempted fanfic of my own I’d definitely head for stories “similar” to the established characters, but put them in my own world so I could be the puppetmaster. Perhaps one of the reasons I rarely deal in repeating characters is that I’d have to remember all the things that happened to them before. On that level, creating fresh is easier.

Copyrighted material.
Click to comment. Log in with WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, G+...up to you.

